Making Memories Together

Hi everyone.

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted.

As mentioned previously, this year has been a really rough one for my family and I.  After my precious daddy was diagnosed with lung cancer on the 4th of January, he had a stroke on the 9th of March and then left us on the 15th of March.  As sudden as his cancer diagnosis was, the stroke really floored us all.  It’s been a very, very trying time for us and we are still battling.  Personally, I am still in denial.

With that said, I have pretty much locked myself away in my scrapping room since mid-March and crafted away.  Both as my own personal form of therapy – and because I had fallen behind on a lot of my design team commitments, which I didn’t enjoy at all.  So now, I’m ahead of myself with my commitments and free to play along with a batch of online challenges.

First up, is my take on the challenge over at More Than Words – this is what it looks like:

If you’re a regular follower of my blog (and my life in general!) you will know that I have been incorporating a lot of photo’s of my daughter with my late husband in my pieces – I’m so scared that she will forget him or rather, aspects of him, as she was not even 4-and-a-half when he passed…  Also, in this day and age where everything is social media, technology and / or digitally based – homes in the future of my child’s generation will not necessarily have all the physical photo’s of memories which were made!  I hate that!  When I grew up, we had walls FULL of photo’s of us at various ages or stages!

So, with that said, I used a photograph of Isabella and Travers taken when we were out and about with her – they were looking at and discussing some birds in a tree and I really love how natural they are in the photograph.  As frames, I dug into my pile of chippie frames that I have – I do tend to keep them as I feel they make great additions to any layout – or card, tag, canvas, etc.!!

Here is what I put together for this challenge, I hope you like it:

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh this is sooo precious! So sorry to hear of your dad’s passing and your late husband. I have no doubt that you will be able to create many more gorgeous projects as this one to remember them by. Thank you for playing along with us at More Than Words!

    Like

  2. I totaly agree with physical photos and social media.. It`s so good that you can scrap your photos, frame them and hang them on a wall. That`s how we protect our memories.
    And I must say that you have done some outstanding work with your layout! It`s so clean and at the same time so full of emotions. Precious!! Thank you that you enter with it at More Than Words.

    Like

  3. I hope you get through this tough time ok Lisa. It’s great that you have a creative outlet to allow you time to clear your head for a while. I love what you’ve done here – I can’t think of any memory that would be better to scrap than that of your daughter and her late father and I love your use of the frames. It’s aperfect interpretation of our challenge at More Than Words.

    Like

  4. Hi Lisa, losing a loved one is never easy, my deepest sympathies for your loss. This is an amazing layout, the picture is simply gorgeous and the frames bring the focus to that amazing memory. Thanks for joining us this month at More than Words & good luck !

    Like

  5. langeatheart says:

    My deepest condolences for your father. I too lost my dad rather abruptly to pancreatic cancer in three months and I still have bad days because of it. I am glad that scrapping is helping you! You did a fabulous job with this layout out! I love it! It touches a spot in my heart that is still very tender! Keep up the great work and don’t forget to come out of that scrap room once in awhile 🙂 I lived in mine far too long! All the best from MTW! 🙂

    Like

  6. Mary Catt says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss dear… I’ve lost my father too from a stroke suddenly and I can absolutely understand what you are being through… ❤
    You did an amazing layout here. I'm really happy you shared your work with us at More Thank Words!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.